With the start of 2019, it is a great time to audit employment policies and practices. The next series of posts will be a review of a few practices California employers should review on a periodic basis. The posts will cover the following topics: the hiring process, employment records (what should be kept and for
notice to employee
Five pitfalls to avoid with California’s minimum wage increase in 2018
California’s state minimum wage increased for California’s employers on January 1, 2018. California’s minimum wage law provides for two different rates based on the size of the employer, and the minimum wage increases are reflected in this chart:
|Date||Minimum Wage for Employers with 25 Employees or Less||Minimum Wage for Employers with 26 Employees|
DOL overtime rules changes: five checklist items for CA employers reclassifying employees
The DOL’s change in the federal overtime rules requiring a higher salary threshold ($47,476 paid annually) for employees to qualify as an exempt employee takes effect December 1, 2016. This Friday’s Five discusses five final checklist items California employers should consider when reclassifying from exempt employees to nonexempt employees.
1. The DOL rule changes are…
Don’t forget to update wage information on notices required by Wage Theft Protection Act in 2016
California employers are required to provide non-exempt employees with certain information upon hire as required by the Wage Theft Protection Act. The law became effective in 2012 and is codified at Labor Code section 2810.5. Many employers use the Labor Commissioner’s template (embedded below) to meet their legal requirement, and will pre-populate the items in…
Five reminders for paid sick leave at the start of 2016 for California employers
I’ve been fielding a lot of questions from clients about California’s paid sick leave at the beginning of 2016. There has been a lot of confusion about accrual rates and tracking paid sick leave for employees, and if the employee’s paid sick leave accrual re-sets at the beginning of the calendar year. This week’s Friday’s…
California’s paid sick leave law amended – what employers need to know
For additional information about the changes for California’s paid sick leave signed into law on July 13, 2015, click here.
Governor signs bill to amend California’s paid sick leave law 13 days after employees begin accruing paid sick leave.
Are you tired of employment lawyers’ obnoxious headlines asking if you are sick over California’s paid sick leave law yet? I’ll spare you the play on words and get to some of the major amendments to California’s paid sick leave law, which took effect immediately upon the Governor’s signature of AB 304 on July…
Presentation: General rules to comply with California’s paid sick leave law
I’ll be posting some short clips of a recent presentation I conducted on complying with California’s paid sick leave law. In this first video, I discuss some general rules California employers need to consider to comply with the July 1, 2015 deadline to offer paid sick leave to employees. Topics include:
- how to calculate pay
Paid sick leave: Are you ready for the July 1, 2015 deadline?
Paid sick leave compliance by July 1, 2015: steps to consider now
If they have not already done so, employers need to start planning and putting a plan into action in order to ensure full compliance by the July 1, 2015 compliance deadline set by California’s Healthy Workplaces, Healthy Families Act. As I’ve set forth before, many deadlines for the Healthy Workplace Healthy Family Act have already…