This Friday’s Five focuses on five California employment related news items that got my attention this week:
As California’s supplemental paid sick leave expired in September 2021, and Governor Newsom decided not to extend it by executive order. Now there are discussions of bringing COVID paid sick leave back, but there are still many questions about what this would look like, and who would be paying for it. LA Democratic Assembly-member Wendy Carrillo is reported as intending to introduce a bill to provide for paid sick leave and will propose that the state use budget surplus money to pay for it. Employers will have to watch to see how this issue develops.
Just as a reminder, California employers are currently required to pay for “exclusion pay” under the Cal/OSHA ETS which is, for the time being, in place until at least mid-April of 2022.
KTLA reports that “employees got about a 2.8% salary bump last year. At the beginning of 2022, companies were considering about a 3% raise, but are now looking at about 3.4%.”
As set forth by the court, “Plaintiffs allege that Mrs. Ek, defendants’ employee, contracted COVID-19 at work because of defendants’ failure to implement adequate safety measures. They claim that Mr. Ek subsequently caught the disease from Mrs. Ek while she convalesced at home. He died from the disease a month later.” The court rejected defendant’s argument that the case was barred under the Workers’ Compensation Act derivative injury doctrine and will permit the lawsuit to proceed. See’s Candies, Inc., et al. v. Superior Court of Los Angeles (Matilde Ek et al.)
The LA Times provides some insights into the free COVID tests: the process is simple, plan ahead, and don’t just take the test for kicks.
California employers are required to register for the CalSavers retirement savings program. Employers with over 100 employees were required to register by September 30, 2020, employers with more than 50 employees were required to register by June 30, 2021, and employers 5 or more employees must register by June 30, 2022. The state has begun to issue citations, which start at $250 per employee, and can increase to $500 per employee.