July 1 is here – the deadline for California employers to begin offering up to three days or 24 hours of paid sick leave. Here is a short three-minute video from a recent presentation I conducted discussing some common questions about California’s Paid Sick Leave law:
- Do employees receive 24 hours or 3 days of paid time off?
- Can employers require a doctor’s note in order for employee to receive paid time off?
- What anti-retaliation provisions exist in the law and how should employers be careful not to violate them?
Another short five-minute video providing a general overview of California’s paid sick leave law can be viewed here.